Still alive… December 27th, 2012

Well, I toughed it out – gaming withdrawals, for a whole… three days.

*********************************************

Gaming can be addicting, regardless not being included in the DSM of mental illnesses,

and can be debilitating, especially when coupled with bad real life circumstances

Star Trek Online is a role-playing game. Kotagh, my avatar in STO, doesn’t exist

outside STO but has pretty much taken over my life. When not playing STO I dream about it

and that 3 days I tried to “cold turkey” it, I was bored out of my skull

(and forehead ridges 😉 )

*****************************************************

For the Holidays I did nothing. Saw neither of my children nor my granddaughter

because this jobless Christmas has depressed me to the point that I escape,

Is escape into a virtual world like Star Trek Online any worse than drug use?

*********************************************

I see some hope for escape. Tonight several of the leaders offered me a

promotion to “Leader”, the top House of Duras Fleet rank

Quite an honor but… It’s not what I need to free myself from the addiction

so I had to turn it down. Greater involvement in STO is NOT what I need

********************************************

So, a virtual “suicide” might be called for. In STO when you delete the game

on your computer ALL is still on the STO servers and if you re-install you get

everything back. If you delete a character he is gone and all that went with him

Ships, weapons, Accolades, ETC also is gone.

May have to do just that

Well, anyway, I’m still alive and with a bit of help from my friends (and God)

I may actually get cured of this addiction

I was once a smoker. Now, it’s like I had never smoked. Not

tempted in the slightest to start again and maybe STO might actually be

part of my future

once this addiction to the game is overcome

Leave a Reply

